Categories
Candles Reviews

Candle Review: COCONUT & VANILLA BEAN VOTIVE by YANKEE CANDLE

Heads up! This article is quite old, and the information, links and opinions expressed in it may not be accurate anymore. I’ve changed, and so have my views! Why not take a look at some of my newer content? Thanks for stopping by!

 

No no, this new fuchsia lipstick with a light blue undertone and satin finish I bought is completely different from that fuchsia lipstick with a light blue undertone and satin finish that I already own.

Sometimes I feel like that’s become my life. The amount of beauty and fragrance products I go through is totally wacko, and eventually even I have to admit that things are starting to seem pretty similar.

But this product is not just similar to another one. I think it’s practically identical, which angers me because I feel like I was tricked into buying the same thing twice. You have to admit, in the store it’s hard to tell what things actually smell like. Only when you unwrap them at home do you really get a whiff – and sometimes that means disappointment.

This week’s review is for Yankee Candle’s 1.75 oz votive in Coconut & Vanilla Bean, which retails for $1.99.

Yankee Candle Coconut & Vanilla Bean Votive
Yankee Candle Coconut & Vanilla Bean Votive

Coconut & Vanilla Bean is a dark brown colour, cylindrical in shape with a wider top. The wick was centred and quite long, so I’ve trimmed it about halfway. The label on the front reads YANKEE CANDLE / COCONUT & VANILLA BEAN / with pure, natural extracts, on a background of a split coconut on sand. The whole candle is shrink-wrapped, with a sticker on the bottom carrying the bar code, safety information, and more.

The Yankee Candle website description reads:

So creamy and luscious. . . pure coconut and warm vanilla create the ultimate island treat.

Wanna know what this really smells like? It smells exactly like another Yankee Candle scent, Black Coconut. The resemblance is no coincidence: the wax is the same colour, the seasonality is the same, and they smell nearly identical on cold sniff. Just like Black Coconut, Coconut & Vanilla Bean is a lime and coconut blend, quite faint and creamy. My mom compared this to lime cola, but the resemblance is minimal at best. Just the same as Black Coconut, no more and no less.

Projection was there but not strong, weak to moderate at best. This I’m fine with, given that the scent was weak even on cold sniff. Huge flame, clean even burn, and a mushroom top combined to make me a very happy candle burner.

My verdict: If they’re recycling scents within the same collection, I think that maybe it’s time for me to move on from YC.

~ ~ ~

You can check out Yankee Candle at www.YankeeCandle.com or follow them on Twitter at twitter.com/TheYankeeCandle

Leave a comment