Categories
Reviews

From the Editor’s Desk: Autumn 2022 Beauty Empties

Happy (almost) New Year! I have just returned from a much-needed vacation, and I’m excited to show you what I’ve used up over the last three months.

Note: The fragrance category is going to look leaner than usual. That is because I had decided to use up 100~ sample vials I had stashed in my collection, and I’ve only just now got to the last of them. Rest assured, I am still smelly!

For quick reference, WNR stands for Would Not Repurchase/Recommend and WR is Would Repurchase/Recommend. As always, these are my personal opinions and I encourage everyone to find the right products for themselves. Products received as gifts, gratis or PR samples are marked as such. An effort has been made to link each product in a Canadian retailer, but none of the links are affiliates nor am I paid to speak on any product.

Hair

  • Dippity Do Girls with Curls Curl Shaping Gelée ($7.27*, purchased without review obligation): The perfect hair styling product for me. Gives definition, shine and hold without being sticky or flaky. Smells good and feels good. WR
  • TRESemmé Conditioner Moisture Rich ($12.99*, purchased without review obligation): I keep buying this because it feels good on my hair and is super affordable. It gives my curls moisture, smells good, and washes cleanly but still leaves them soft. Love the giant bottle and the pump, please never change! WR

Body

  • Equate Aloe Vera Body Wash ($4.27*, purchased without review obligation): I can’t tell you how many of these I’ve gone through. Perfect body wash that feels and smells good without stripping the skin. WR
  • Farmacy Honey Bubble Hydrating Body Wash ($40.20~*, received as gratis without review obligation): I’m not sure I would splruge this much on a body wash, even if it does smell like delicious honey. It also didn’t lather up as much as the Equate one I am used to. WNR
  • Holo Taco Gold Flake Taco ($17.54*, purchased without review obligation): Any time I want a specialty nail polish beyond a basic crème, I know that Holo Taco won’t disappoint. They have perfected their special effects polishes at a reasonable price for a niche brand. This top coat glides over other polishes, depositing lots of tiny golden flakes that shine and sparkle. I would love to see a variation of this with larger flakes, but in the meanwhile this is perfect over black, red, or even white polish bases. Mine unfortunately dried out with half of the product left, but that doesn’t deter me from repurchasing! WR
  • Equate Soothing Oatmeal & Shea Butter Body Lotion ($3.97*, purchased without review obligation): Rubbing this lotion on always feels ten times as luxurious as it costs. It’s so hydrating without a greasy feeling, smells divine and costs next to nothing. Perfection. WR

Makeup

  • Dermablend 25N Cover Creme Full Coverage Foundation ($46*, received as gratis without review obligation): If you need full coverage and high performance, look no further. Providing absolutely flawless coverage with a smoothing finish, and lasting absolutely all day with zero sweating, breaking down or creasing. Foundation of the gods. WR
  • Essence 01 Black Fever long-lasting eye pencil ($3.99*, purchased without review obligation): You can’t beat this when it comes to inexpensive eyeliners. Creamy, pigmented, precise, long lasting yet easy to smudge and remove when desired. I’m surprised this doesn’t come in more colours. WR
  • DIOR 943 Euphoric Rouge Dior Contour Lip Pencil ($39*, received as gratis without review obligation): This is such a good lip liner formula. It really does last the whole day, and goes on dry enough to be precise but without digging up foundation. This shade is super versatile and goes with reds, pinks, and even browns. WR
  • MAC Cosmetics Mystery Eye Shadow (discontinued, received as a PR sample for review consideration): I used this as a contour shade for the face, and it was nice for that. It was pigmented and easy to blend without looking muddy. Would probably look nice on the eyes, too. For my purposes the pan was too small to use on the face often, so I wouldn’t pick it up again. WNR
  • Revolution F8 Conceal & Hydrate Foundation ($15.77~*, purchased without review obligation): I was pleasantly surprised by how this foundation worked. It provided full coverage in a rather thin application, and lasted all day without creasing or breaking up. I was even able to mix it with greasepaint to achieve colorful costume makeup. It is a little expensive for the drugstore (especially since it’s only 23ml), but a solid option nonetheless. WR
  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Christmas Cookie Velour Liquid Lipstick ($25*, purchased without review obligation): You can tell I liked this because I scooped out every last drop. It was the perfect “no lipstick” lipstick shade for me, with a precise applicator and all-day wear without discomfort. Perfect. WR
  • Tatti Lashes 4D TLMitchell Lashes ($18*, purchased without review obligation): From back in the days that I supported Mitchell, which I no longer do. These are excellent lashes, they are full and dense with an easy to use band. They last so many wears and if you buy them in bulk, they’re actually very affordable. I’d recommend them if it wasn’t for the person attached. WNR
  • Burberry 11 Dark Earthy Blush Light Glow Natural Blush (discontinued, received as gratis without review obligation): From back when Burberry makeup was around, this was well known as their contour shade for fair skin. I think it would work really well as that, but I prefer much more colour payoff from my bronzers and found it difficult to get it to show up. WNR
  • Smashbox Sepia Photo Op Eye Shadow Trio (discontinued, received as gratis without review obligation): This trio of shadows was well coordinated to create a cool-toned purple smokey eye that was quite beautiful. I found the shadows easy to blend, but they faded a lot throughout the day. WNR
  • Chanel Or Blanc Le Signe du Lion Illuminating Powder (discontinued, purchased without review obligation): This was a great shade to make fair-medium skintones pop. It gave a nice sheen without glitter, and was soft enough that it didn’t accentuate texture. The pretty embossing made it difficult to use it up evenly, but it was lovely. WR
  • Wet n Wild Light Medium Pump Makeup Locker (discontinued, purchased without review obligation): This is nice in theory, but in practice it’s not perfect. The BB cream is super sheer (but can be built to medium coverage with the right brush and copious amounts), and the corrector/highlighter situation in the lid should have been a concealer. It would have also benefited from some SPF in the formula and maybe a portable applicator, since the spatula scoop is awful. WNR
  • NUDESTIX Brown/Black Eyebrow Stylus Pencil & Gel ($29*, received as a gift without review obligation): I was surprised to run out of the clear brow gel side way before finishing the pencil side. The gel looked crispy and goopy, and I found the wide edge of the brow pencil a bit harder to use than a precise tip. WNR
  • MAC Cosmetics Carbon Eye Shadow ($10*, received as a PR sample for review consideration): This would probably be a great matte black eye shadow for normal makeup users. For me as a drag performer, I want richly pigmented shadows in a loosely pressed pan that is easy to pile on, which this was not. I ended up mixing it with Inglot’s Duraline to form a gel eye liner. WNR
  • NUDESTIX Sunkissed Nudies ($32*, received as a gift without review obligation): I could see how this would be a handy thing to have if you’re somebody who wears almost no makeup but needs to be able to apply it on the go. It’s creamy, pigmented, and easy to blend, but you get a miniscule amount of product and you still need a brush to blend it in. As somebody who wears makeup every day and applies it at a vanity, this doesn’t fit my needs. WNR
  • Gade Velveteen Blush & Shimmer Duet ($44.67~*, purchased without review obligation): I ended up using the blush shade as a bronzer, which was fine but not economical. The highlighter was most disappointing, giving almost no shine or sparkle. WNR
  • DIOR Diorshow 24h Buildable Volume Mascara ($39*, received as gratis without review obligation): A very lackluster mascara. I felt that it barely coated my lashes, and the brown was not super flattering for my makeup style. WNR
  • Saie Three + Half Slip Tint Dewy Tinted Moisturizer ($47*, received as a gift without review obligation): This is probably the only time you’ll hear me praise a low coverage foundation. This goes on smoothly, hydrates, and protects with SPF 35 (not labelled in Canada). The airless pump leads to zero mess and one hundred percent value, and it lasts all day without breaking down or creasing. Perfect for natural makeup looks. WR

Skincare

  • Farmacy Clean Bee Ultra-Gentle Facial Cleanser ($36*, received as gratis without review obligation): As somebody with extremely dry skin I’m always cautious of foaming gel cleansers, but this was a pleasant surprise. For starters, it removes all makeup as well as a makeup remover, making it a great product to help me de-drag. But more importantly, it doesn’t leave my skin stripped, and in fact feels hydrating and conditioning. A new go-to. WR
  • Reversa Collagenique™ Cream ($62*, received as gratis without review obligation): The ingredients in this formula check out – think peptides and hyaluronic acid – but I can’t say I noticed anything special about it in two months of using it up. It hydrates fine with a very lightweight consistency, but for the cost I would have liked to see something tangible. WNR
  • Biotherm Blue Therapy Red Algae Uplift Night Cream, for Firming and Anti-Aging ($99*, received as gratis without review obligation): When I think antiaging cream, this is what I think of. Thick, buttery texture with a gentle scent that feels properly hydrating and firming. Loved the sleek packaging, although it appears to have been changed since. WR
  • Algenist GENIUS Liquid Skin Resurfacing 2% BHA Toner ($53*, received as a gift without review obligation): I was glad to try this out because my skin hasn’t been loving AHA’s recently, so it was a pleasant surprise that it was fine with BHA’s. It didn’t sting my skin, and I appreciated that it wasn’t scented. I wouldn’t say that I saw any benefits to using this such as shrunken pores, but it could be that this wasn’t my primary skin concern to begin with. WNR
  • Dr. Jart+ Cicapair Tiger Grass Enzyme Foam Cleanser ($34*, received as a gift without review obligation): I was sure this foaming gel cleanser would strip my skin, but it was absolutely fine. Even the enzymes in the formula did not irritate my skin, which was a big win. Overall it was a perfectly fine cleanser, but nothing like the sensorial experience I prefer in a face wash. WNR
  • Reversa Resurfacing Smoothing Cream ($41*, received as gratis without review obligation): This cream features 10% glycolic acid, which my dry and sensitive skin doesn’t appreciate. It tingled a lot and made me feel that my moisture barrier was weaker for it. WNR
  • Dermalogica Barrier Defense Booster ($106*, received as a gift without review obligation): This oil felt super soothing and hydrating, like it contributed to my skin barrier rather than simply coating it. It smelled relaxing and had a no-mess dispenser that I appreciated. I could never justify the cost, but it is lovely. WR
  • Charlotte Tilbury Magic Cream ($125* for full size, received as a gift with purchase without review obligation): Still my favourite face cream. It goes on like butter, instantly bringing comfort to dry skin. Just perfect. WR
  • Vichy Purete Thermale Michellar Water for Combination to Oily Skin ($20.48*, received as gratis without review obligation): It appears that this is still available in the US, even though in Canada it’s gone. This was a fine micellar water, it removed most of my makeup before a second cleanse. My preferred use for it was to clean any stubborn makeup leftovers after a proper wash. I wouldn’t spend this much money on a micellar water again. WNR
  • Lancôme Bi-Facil Double-Action Eye Makeup Remover ($42*, received as gratis without review obligation): Speaking of overpriced makeup removers, this has got to take the cake. I simply don’t understand the decades-old hype over this eye makeup remover, which not only is unnecessary (any makeup remover can be used on the face and eyes) but also completely useless. It does such a poor job on even non-waterproof makeup that it requires you to tug on your eyes in order to break down anything. I am baffled. WNR
  • Clinique Take The Day Off™ Cleansing Balm ($17* for full size, received as a gift with purchase without review obligation): I found this did a good job at removing my makeup without any residue or dryness. I’d like it if it had a scent, but it was still really good. WR
  • Farmacy Wake Up Honey Eye Cream with Brightening Vitamin C ($58* for full size, received as gratis without review obligation): One of the best new launches in skincare in a long time. This eye cream is velvety and creamy, perfect for dry skin that needs rest and relaxation. Smoothing, plumping, brightening and tightening, it does it all with powerhouse ingredients that make it worth the splurge. My new must-have! WR
  • Dermalogica Mini Special Cleansing Gel ($17*, received as a gift without review obligation): Enjoyed using this foaming cleanser on the road, it did a good job washing off grime but not stripping the moisture barrier. It’s expensive for a full size, but that comes with the territory I suppose. WR
  • PHA Daily Moisturizer PHA Daily Moisturizer ($49*, received as gratis without review obligation): Turns out that PHA’s are the only type of acids I can use without getting irritation and drying. This moisturizer is a great way to combine gentle exfoliation with hydration that lasts all day. It doesn’t smell, it comes in an airtight pump, and it sits nicely under makeup. WR

Fragrance:

  • Bath & Body Works Mahogany Teakwood High Intensity Scented Candle ($26.95*, purchased without review obligation): If there’s one thing I know about B&BW, it’s to never pay retail. I bought this on 50% discount, making it somewhat affordable for a candle that lasts a good two weeks of lighting. It has great scent throw and smells great, enough to mask odors and give the home a welcoming aroma. Stocking up. WR
  • Bath & Body Works Mahagony Teakwood Increased Intensity Wallflower ($7.25*, purchased without review obligation): These bulbs gave high scent throw that was complementary to the above candle. I appreciate that they offer the same scent in multiple products, which allow you to carry the scent to places in the house. WR

*Prices true at time of writing. Foreign currencies are converted to CAD and are approximate.


Enjoyed this article? Love fragrance & beauty? Make sure to subscribe to Nosegasm.wordpress.com by email so you don’t miss the hottest reviews, latest news, and awesome giveaways.

Leave a comment